Home  \  Authors  \  Authors  \ 

Yoav Levitas Halevy

Yoav Levitas Halevy was born at Kibbutz Beit Zera, Israel, in 1939, and lives on the kibbutz to this day. He studied Hebrew and English literature at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. He also studied translation in Geneva, and translates from English, French and Spanish into Hebrew. Levitas Halevy started publishing fiction in 1958.

Books Published in Hebrew

On a Clear Afternoon (stories), Massada, 1972 [Ahar Tzohorayim Bahir]
Pitcairn (novel), Schocken, 1977 [Pitcairn]
De Profundis 1975 (novel), Sifriat Poalim, 1980 [Michtavim Me-Ha-Kele]
The Story of Lehava (novel), Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1991 [Ha-Sipur Shel Lehava]
The Ransom (suspense) , Sifriat Maariv, 1995 [Kofer Nefesh]
The 8th Apparition of My Cat (autobiography), Sifriat Poalim, 2011 [He-Hatul Sheli Mofia Ba-Paʹam Ha-Shminit]

Books in Translation

Our new Spring 2019 catalogue of new books is up.
Click here to see it
"An original, extraordinary book" The Brenner prize committee
Congratulations to Noga Albalach, winner of the 2018 Brenner prize for her book "The Old Man (Farewell)".
Residencies in Vienna and Salzburg
In co-operation with KulturKontakt Austria, the Austrian Federal Chancellery offers 50 residencies in Vienna and Salzburg for the year 2019. Applications can be submitted for literature, literature for children and young adults and literary translations. Please note the deadline of September 30th, 2018.
Call for applications English speakers: Stay culture in Paris (deadline: June 12th, 2018)
Details in the attached link
Congratulations to Sami Berdugo and Shoham Smith, recipients of the 2018 Bialik Prize, one of the most prestigious literary prizes in Israel!

The Ministry of Culture and Sport announced the names of the winners of the Arik Einstein Veterans Artists Prize.
A prize of 50,000 NIS was given to each of the 21 artists who worked and are still working to promote Israeli culture in various fields -Music, dance, theater, plastic arts, cinema and literature. In the literature category the winners were Ronny Someck, Jacob Buchan and Shlomit Cohen-Assif. Also, Anat Masiach is among the recipient of the prize for debut literary works. Congratulations!
MHL - New webzine starting soon!