Home  \  Authors  \  Authors  \ 

Nissim Aloni

Nissim Aloni (1926-1998), one of Israel's leading dramatists, was born in Tel Aviv. He fought in the 1948 War of Independence and then began publishing stories in the soldiers' weekly, Bamahaneh. Aloni studied history and French culture at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem, and then spent a year in Paris, where he became closely acquainted with the new European theater. His first play, Most Cruel the King, based on a biblical story, was produced by Habima Theater in 1953. After his return from Paris, he wrote and directed The King's New Clothes, which represented a total revolution in Israeli theater. In 1963, he founded the Seasons Theater, which was active for three years.
Aloni's work was critically acclaimed and enjoyed a popular following. He wrote and staged 12 plays, and published one collection of short stories during his lifetime. His play, Eddy King, has also been adapted for the screen.
Aloni was awarded The Nahum Zemach & Menahem Gnessin Prize for Most Cruel the King (1955), The Kinor David Prize for Playwright of the Year three times (1964; 1971; 1976), as well as for Director of the Year (1971); the Govinska-Baratz Prize for The Bride and the Butterfly Hunter (1967), the President's Prize for  Aunt Lisa (1971), the Tel Aviv Prize for stage arts (1971), the Meskin Prize for The American Princess (1982), The Bialik Prize (1983), the Scheiber Prize (1987), the Rosenblum Prize for stage arts (1993), the Ada Ben Nahum Translation Prize (1994), the Israeli Theater Prize for Lifetime Achievement (1995), the Israel Prize for Theater (1996) and the Israeli Theater Prize for Translator of the Year (1997; 1998). In 1992, he became an Honorary Fellow of the The Sam Spiegel Film & Television School, Jerusalem.

Nissim Aloni

Books Published in Hebrew

The American Princess (play), Amikam, 1963; Yedioth Ahronoth, 2002 [Ha-Nesicha Ha-Amerikait]
Eddy King (play), University Publishing Projects/ Siman Kriah, 1975 [Eddy King]
The Owl [Run, Soldier, Run] (stories) , Tarmil, 1975; Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1981; Am Oved, Omanut Laam, 1996; rev. ed. as Run, Soldier, Run: Hakibbutz Hameuchad/ Siman Kriah, 2006 [Ha-Yanshuf; later: Rutz, Chayal Turki]
The Bride and the Butterfly Hunter (play), Hakibbutz Hameuchad/ Siman Kriah, 1980 [Ha-Kala Ve-Tzayad Ha-Parparim; Ha-Niftar Mitpareʹa]
Napoleon, Dead or Alive (play), Keter, 1993 [Napoleon - Hai O Met!]
Notes of an Alley Cat (non-fiction), Yedioth Aharonoth, 1996 [Reshimot Shel Hatul Rechov]
Most Cruel the King (play), Yedioth Ahronoth, 1997 [Achzar Mi-Col Ha-Melech]
Aunt Lisa (play), Yedioth Ahronoth, 2000 [Doda Lisa]
Gypsies of Jaffa (play), Yedioth Ahronoth, 2000 [Ha-Tzoʹanim Shel Yaffo]
The Kingʹs Clothes (play), Yedioth Ahronoth, 2004 [Bigdey Ha-Melech]
Run, Soldier, Run (stories), Hakibbutz Hameuchad/ Siman Kriah, 2006 [Rutz, Chayal Turki]. See: The Owl, above
The Gecko (stories) , Kinneret, Zmora-Bitan, Dvir, 2017 [Ha-Smamit]
Most Cruel the King [Habima, 1953]
Like Anyone Else (Lucas the Coward) [Eshnav, 1959]
The Kingʹs New Clothes [Habima, 1961]
The American Princess [Haʹonot, 1963]
The Revolution and the Chicken [Cameri, 1964]
The Bride and the Butterfly Hunter [Bimot, 1967]
Aunt Lisa [Bimot, 1969]
Napoleon Dead or Alive [Bimot, 1970]
Gypsies of Jaffa [Habima, 1971]
That Scapegoat [Cameri, 1973]
Eddy King [Habima, 1975]
The Wild Deceased [Beit Lessin, 1980]

Books in Translation

French: Paris, Viviane Hamy, 2016
The American Princess
English: Tel Aviv, The Institute for the Translation of Hebrew Literature, 1980

Eddy King
French: Tel Aviv, The Institute for the Translation of Hebrew Literature, 1985 
Manuscripts available in translation (for publishers only):
The Bride and the Butterfly Hunter (play) - English; French
The Owl (stories) - English


Congratulations to Barabara Harshav for the 2018 PEN Medal for Translation!
The prize is given to a translator whose career has demonstrated a commitment to excellence through the body of their work. Barbara Harshav has been translating works from French, German, Hebrew and Yiddish for over twenty years and has currently published over forty books of translation. Among the many Hebrew authors she has translated: Yoram Kaniuk, Agnon, Yehudit Hendel, Yehuda Amichai and many more.
The Ministry of Culture and Sport announced the names of the winners of the Arik Einstein Veterans Artists Prize.
A prize of 50,000 NIS was given to each of the 21 artists who worked and are still working to promote Israeli culture in various fields -Music, dance, theater, plastic arts, cinema and literature. In the literature category the winners were Ronny Someck, Jacob Buchan and Shlomit Cohen-Assif. Also, Anat Masiach is among the recipient of the prize for debut literary works. Congratulations!
Congratulations to Ronit Matalon, the recipient of the 2017 Brenner prize for her book 'And the Bride Closed the Door". And, congratulations to Amir ziv, the recipent of the first ever Brenner prize for debut novels.
Ronit Matalon's book tells the story of Margie, a young bride, who shuts herself up in her mother's bedroom and declares that she won’t get married. Her family gathers at the locked door, not knowing what to do. Amir Ziv tells a story that begins as an apparently routine correspondence between a prying citizen, secretly in love with his neighbor, and a conscientious municipal clerk, and developes into an uncovering of a great underlying drama.
The fourth German-Hebrew/Hebrew-German translation workshop April 29 to May 5, 2018 Beit Ben-Yehuda, Jerusalem
After workshops in Berlin, Jerusalem and Straelen, the workshop will return to Jerusalem this spring. This workshop will focus on the participants translations. These are unfinished translations that have not yet been published. These will be sent to all participants. The workshop is open to 10 participants and is intended for literary translators with experience and publications. Workshop facilitators: Anne Birkenhauer and Gadi Goldberg Prerequisites: At least one published translation Duration: Sunday, April 29, 2018 until Saturday, May 5, 2018 Location: Beit Ben-Yehuda, 28 Ein Gedi St., 93383 Jerusalem Participation fee: Participation (Accommodation and meals) is free of charge. Travel / flight expenses will be refunded. For more details and for the documents required for submitting application: Anne Birkenhauer, and Gadi Goldberg,
Ayelet Gundar-Goshen's "Waking Lions" is one of the 100 notable books of 2017 of the "New York Times".

Congratulations to Zeruya Shalev and Shifra Horn for receiving the 2017 Adei Wizo Prize.

Ayelet Gundar-Goshen's "Waking Lions" is longlisted for the 2018 International Dublin Literary Award
Ayelet Gundar-Goshen's "Waking Lions" is longlisted for the 2018 International Dublin Literary Award! The books on the longlist are selected by 400 libraries worldwide. Titles are nominated on the basis of ‘high literary merit’ as determined by the nominating library.
Yitzchak Mayer's personal website goes live
English edition of Yitzchak Mayer's amazing "Silent Letter" is about to come out with Mosaic Press. Learn more about the author's incredible life story on his brand new website.
MHL - New webzine starting soon!