Home  \  Authors  \  Authors  \ 

S. Yizhar

S.Yizhar (Yizhar Smilansky, 1916-2006) was born in Rehovot, pre-state Israel, to a family of Russian immigrants who were members of the Zionist pioneer intelligentsia. He fought in Israel's 1948 War of Independence, was a member of the political parties headed by David Ben Gurion and held a seat in the Knesset, the Israeli Parliament, for 17 years. Yizhar was a professor of education at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and a professor of Hebrew literature at Tel Aviv University. He published novels and short stories, non-fiction books and books for children.
S.Yizhar is considered Israel's most illustrious writer. He was awarded the Israel Prize in 1959 for his masterpiece, Days of Ziklag. He also received the Ruppin Prize (1948), the Brenner Prize twice (1950; 1959), the Lamdan Prize (1960), the Ussishkin Prize (1963), the Bialik Prize (1991) the Ben Gurion Prize (2001), the Prime Minister's Prize (2001) and the EMET Prize for Art, Science and Culture (2002). Days of Ziklag is included among "The 100 Greatest Works of Modern Jewish Literature" (2001). In 2007, it was named one of the ten most important books since the creation of the State of Israel. Yizhar's work has been published in 22 languages.

S. Yizhar by Chaim Goldberg

Books Published in Hebrew

Ephraim Goes Back to Alfalfa (novella), 1938; Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1978; Zmora-Bitan, 1991 [Ephraim Chozer La-Aspeset]. Included in: Midnight Convey & Other Stories, below
On the Edge of the Negev (novella), Am Oved, 1945; rev. ed. Hakibbutz Hamechad, 1978 [Be-Faʹatei Negev]
The Wood on the Hill (novellas), Sifriat Poalim, 1947; rev. ed. Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1979; Zmora-Bitan, 1990 [Ha-Chorsha Ba-Giv’a]
Hirbet Hiz’ah (novellas & stories) , Sifriat Poalim, 1949; ext. and rev. ed. Zmora-Bitan, 1989; 2006; Zmora-Bitan, Yedioth Ahronoth, 2010; Sifriat Poalim, 2017 [Sipur Hirbet Hiz’ah]
Midnight Convoy (novella), Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1950; Tarmil, 1971 [Shayara Shel Chatzot] See below.
Days of Ziklag [2 vols.] (novel) , Am Oved, 1958; Zmora-Bitan, 1989 [Yemei Tziklag]
Four Stories (novellas & stories), Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1959 [Arbaʹa Sipurim]. See: Hirbet Hizʹah, extended and rev. ed., above
Stories of a Plain (stories & novella), Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1963; rev. ed. Zmora-Bitan, 1990 [Sipurei Mishor]
Midnight Convoy and Other Stories [different selections] (stories & novellas) , See English, French, German and Italian editions, 1969, 1967, 2000, 2007, 2013 [Shayara Shel Chatzot Ve-Sipurim Acherim]
Seven Stories (novellas & stories), Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1971 [Shiv’a Sipurim]
Before Departure (stories), Zmora-Bitan, 1991 [Beterem Yetziʹa]
Preliminaries [Mikdamot] (novel) , Zmora-Bitan, 1992 [Mikdamot]
Tzalhavim (novel) , Zmora-Bitan, 1993 [Tzalhavim]
Asides (stories) , Zmora-Bitan, 1996 [Tzdadiyim]
By the Sea (novellas) , Zmora-Bitan, 1996 [Etzel Ha-Yam]
Lovely Malcolmiah (novel) , Zmora-Bitan, 1998 [Malcomiya Yefefiya]
Collected Work [7 vols.], Zmora-Bitan, 1996 [Mahadura Meyuchedet Mi-Kitvei S. Yizhar]
On Education and on Education Towards Values (non-fiction), Am Oved, 1974 [Al Chinuch Ve-Al Chinuch La-Arachim]
To Read a Story [2 vols.] (non-fiction), Am Oved, 1982 [Likro Sipur]
A Story Is Not (essays), Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1983 [Sipur Eino]
A Call for Education (non-fiction), Sifriat Poalim, 1984 [Kriʹa Le-Chinuch]
Farewell to Education (essays), Zmora-Bitan, 1988 [Preida Min Ha-Chinuch]
Dispute, (non-fiction), Zmora-Bitan, 1988 [Dapei Riv]
Two Polemics, (non-fiction), Zmora-Bitan, 1990 [Shnei Pulmusim]
Discovering Elijah (memoir) , Zmora-Bitan, 1999 [Giluy Eliyahu]
Six Summer Stories (youth), Sifriat Poalim, 1950; Zmora Bitan, 1990 [Shisha Sipurei Kayitz]
Adventure in the Lake (children), Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1956 [Harpatka Ba-Agam: Maʹaseh She-Haya Be-Yam-Chula]
The Adventures of Humit (children), Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1958; Zmora-Bitan, 1992 [Alilot Humit]
Oran and Ange (children), Sifriat Poalim, 1960; 1976; 2012 [Tapu U-Fuza]
Uncle’s Moshe’s Chariot (children), Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1973; Even Hoshen, 2006 [Ha-Kirkara Shel Ha-Dod Moshe]
Barefoot (youth), Tarshish, 1959; Zmora-Bitan, 1989 [Be-Raglayim Yechefot]

Books in Translation

German: Frankfurt, Suhrkamp, 1998
Italian (with The Prisoner): Turin, Einaudi, 2005
English: Jerusalem, Ibis, 2008; London, Granta, 2011; NY, Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2014
Spanish: Barcelona, Minuscula, 2009
French: Paris, Galaade, 2010
Norwegian: Oslo, Aschehoug, 2011; pback: 2016
Greek: Athens, Melani, 2018
Swedish: Stockholm, Bonnier, forthcoming
Dutch: Amsterdam, Athenaeum-Pollak & van Genepp, 2013
Danish: Copenhagen, Moeller, 2016: Audio, 2018 
English: Jerusalem, Israel Universities Press, 1969; New York/London, The Toby Press, 2007
German: Frankfurt, Suhrkamp, 1997  
French: Arles, Actes Sud, 2000
Italian: Rome, Elliott, 2013
French: Arles, Actes Sud, 1997
German: Reinbeck, Rowholt, 1996; pback: 1998; ebook: forthcoming 
English: London/New York, Toby Press, 2007

Selected Stories
Arabic: Beirut, Dar Al-Kalimah, 1988
Our new Spring 2019 catalogue of new books is up.
Click here to see it
"An original, extraordinary book" The Brenner prize committee
Congratulations to Noga Albalach, winner of the 2018 Brenner prize for her book "The Old Man (Farewell)".
Residencies in Vienna and Salzburg
In co-operation with KulturKontakt Austria, the Austrian Federal Chancellery offers 50 residencies in Vienna and Salzburg for the year 2019. Applications can be submitted for literature, literature for children and young adults and literary translations. Please note the deadline of September 30th, 2018.
Call for applications English speakers: Stay culture in Paris (deadline: June 12th, 2018)
Details in the attached link
Congratulations to Sami Berdugo and Shoham Smith, recipients of the 2018 Bialik Prize, one of the most prestigious literary prizes in Israel!

The Ministry of Culture and Sport announced the names of the winners of the Arik Einstein Veterans Artists Prize.
A prize of 50,000 NIS was given to each of the 21 artists who worked and are still working to promote Israeli culture in various fields -Music, dance, theater, plastic arts, cinema and literature. In the literature category the winners were Ronny Someck, Jacob Buchan and Shlomit Cohen-Assif. Also, Anat Masiach is among the recipient of the prize for debut literary works. Congratulations!
MHL - New webzine starting soon!