Home  \  Authors  \  Authors  \ 

Yitzhak Ben-Ner

Yitzhak Ben-Ner was born in Kfar Yehoshua, Israel, in 1937 and studied literature and drama at Tel Aviv University. Ben-Ner is a writer, screenwriter, playwright, journalist and film critic. He also edits and hosts radio and TV programs. He began publishing stories as a young boy, and his first book for adults was published in 1967. Several of his books and stories have been adapted for the screen and stage; his play Ta'atuon received First Prize at the Theatroneto Festival (1990) and was performed at the Royal National Theater, London, in 1998. Ben-Ner has been awarded the prestigious Agnon-Jerusalem Prize (1981), the Bernstein Prize (1981), the Ramat Gan Prize for Literature (1983), the Prime Minister's Prize (2006) and the ACUM Prize for Lifetime Achievement (2008). 

Yitzhak Ben-Ner

Books Published in Hebrew

After the Field-Burner (children) Alef, 1967; rev. ed. Keter, 1980 [Be-Ikvot Mavʹir Ha-Sadot]
The Man from There (novel) , Am Oved, 1967, 2015 [Ha-Ish Mi-Sham]
Rustic Sunset (stories) , Am Oved, 1976; Yedioth Ahronoth, 2007 [Shkiʹa Kafrit]
Kishona: Children of the River (youth), Am Oved, 1978 [Kishona: Alilot A-La-Yaakov Va-Chavurato]
After the Rain (stories), Keter, 1979 [Acharei Ha-Geshem: Shlosha Sipurim]
My Friend Emmanuel and I (children), Keter, 1980 [Yedidi Emmanuel Va-Ani]
A Far Land (novel in stories), Keter, 1981 [Eretz Rechoka: Roman Be-Sipurim]
Protocol (novel), Keter, 1983 [Protokol]
The Angels Are Coming (novel), Keter, Hakibbutz Hameuchad/ Siman Kriah, 1987; Kinneret, Zmora-Bitan, 2016 [Malʹachim Baʹim]
Taʹatuon (novel), Keter, 1989 [Taʹatuon]
Jeans: A Dog. Not Pants (youth), Keter, 1991 [Jeans: Kalba. Lo Michnasayim]
Morning of Fools (novel), Keter, 1992 [Boker Shel Shotim]
Bears and Woods (novel), Keter, 1995 [Dubim Ve-Yaʹar]
Enemy Scope (suspense) , Keter, 1997 [Mitcham Oyev]
City of Refuge (novel) , Am Oved, 2000 [Ir Miklat]
Nobodyʹs Ever Died Walking (novel), Yedioth Ahronoth, 2007 [Af Echad Od Lo Met Be-Halicha]
The Long Night Journey Home (stories), Am Oved, 2013 [Ha-Masa Ha-Leily Ha-Aroch Habayta: Mivchar Sipurim Me-Az U-Me-Achshav]
The Itzhakya [digital book] (autobiographical novel), Mendele EBooks, 2013 [Ha-Itzchakya]
The Magic Door (writer) [TV series, 1974]
Atalia (story) [feature film, 1984]
Again, Forever (story & screenplay) [feature film, 1985]
Winter Games (story) [TV drama, 1988]
Nili (screenplay & director) [documentary feature film, 1996]
Enemy Scope (writer) [TV mini-series, 1999]
Nicole [Habima, 1978]
Cairo, February ʹ78 [Habima, 1982]
David August [1983]
A Far Land [1989]
Taʹatuon [Cameri, 1990]
Morning of Fools [Beit Lessin, 1994]
Uri Muri [Cameri, 1998]

Books in Translation

English: New York/Tel Aviv, Sabra Books, 1970
Japanese: Tokyo, Kadokawa Shoten, 1978
French: Paris, Ecriture, 1994
English: Colorado Springs, Lynne Rienner, 1997 
After the Rain
Danish: Copenhagen, S.T., 1992
Congratulations to Barabara Harshav for the 2018 PEN Medal for Translation!
The prize is given to a translator whose career has demonstrated a commitment to excellence through the body of their work. Barbara Harshav has been translating works from French, German, Hebrew and Yiddish for over twenty years and has currently published over forty books of translation. Among the many Hebrew authors she has translated: Yoram Kaniuk, Agnon, Yehudit Hendel, Yehuda Amichai and many more.
The Ministry of Culture and Sport announced the names of the winners of the Arik Einstein Veterans Artists Prize.
A prize of 50,000 NIS was given to each of the 21 artists who worked and are still working to promote Israeli culture in various fields -Music, dance, theater, plastic arts, cinema and literature. In the literature category the winners were Ronny Someck, Jacob Buchan and Shlomit Cohen-Assif. Also, Anat Masiach is among the recipient of the prize for debut literary works. Congratulations!
Congratulations to Ronit Matalon, the recipient of the 2017 Brenner prize for her book 'And the Bride Closed the Door". And, congratulations to Amir ziv, the recipent of the first ever Brenner prize for debut novels.
Ronit Matalon's book tells the story of Margie, a young bride, who shuts herself up in her mother's bedroom and declares that she won’t get married. Her family gathers at the locked door, not knowing what to do. Amir Ziv tells a story that begins as an apparently routine correspondence between a prying citizen, secretly in love with his neighbor, and a conscientious municipal clerk, and developes into an uncovering of a great underlying drama.
The fourth German-Hebrew/Hebrew-German translation workshop April 29 to May 5, 2018 Beit Ben-Yehuda, Jerusalem
After workshops in Berlin, Jerusalem and Straelen, the workshop will return to Jerusalem this spring. This workshop will focus on the participants translations. These are unfinished translations that have not yet been published. These will be sent to all participants. The workshop is open to 10 participants and is intended for literary translators with experience and publications. Workshop facilitators: Anne Birkenhauer and Gadi Goldberg Prerequisites: At least one published translation Duration: Sunday, April 29, 2018 until Saturday, May 5, 2018 Location: Beit Ben-Yehuda, 28 Ein Gedi St., 93383 Jerusalem Participation fee: Participation (Accommodation and meals) is free of charge. Travel / flight expenses will be refunded. For more details and for the documents required for submitting application: Anne Birkenhauer, and Gadi Goldberg,
Ayelet Gundar-Goshen's "Waking Lions" is one of the 100 notable books of 2017 of the "New York Times".

Congratulations to Zeruya Shalev and Shifra Horn for receiving the 2017 Adei Wizo Prize.

Ayelet Gundar-Goshen's "Waking Lions" is longlisted for the 2018 International Dublin Literary Award
Ayelet Gundar-Goshen's "Waking Lions" is longlisted for the 2018 International Dublin Literary Award! The books on the longlist are selected by 400 libraries worldwide. Titles are nominated on the basis of ‘high literary merit’ as determined by the nominating library.
Yitzchak Mayer's personal website goes live
English edition of Yitzchak Mayer's amazing "Silent Letter" is about to come out with Mosaic Press. Learn more about the author's incredible life story on his brand new website.
MHL - New webzine starting soon!