Home  \  Authors  \  Authors  \ 

Shulamit Gilboa

Shulamit Gilboa was born in Tel Aviv in 1943, and began publishing poems and short stories at an early age. She holds a BA in Hebrew literature and an MA in philosophy from Tel Aviv University. Gilboa has taught philosophy at academic level and literature at high school. For over twenty years, she was deputy, then literary editor of the daily Yedioth Ahronoth. Gilboa received the Tel Aviv Literature and Art Foundation Award (1999), and a writing stipend at Oxford University in 1999. She has been awarded the Publishers Association's Gold and Platinum Book Prizes for her bestseller, Four Men and a Woman (2001; 2005), and the Publishers Association's Gold Book Prize for Alma's Way (2004).

Shulamit Gilboa

Books Published in Hebrew

Either Winter or Its End (stories), Sifriat Poalim, 1981 [O Choref O Sofo]
The Fourth Lie (stories) , Hakibbutz Hameuchad/ Siman Kriah, 1993 [Ha-Sheker Ha-Revi'i]
Four Men and a Woman (novel) , Yedioth Ahronoth, 2000 [Arba'a Gvarim Ve-Isha]
Alma’s Way (novel) , Yedioth Ahronoth, 2003 [Derech Alma]
Lethal Wife (novel), Hakibbutz Hameuchad/ Siman Kriah, 2005 [Isha Katlanit]
Separate Unit [with Itamar Gilboa] (novel), Yedioth Ahronoth, 2008 [Yechida Nifredet]
Life on Hold (novel), Yedioth Ahronoth, 2012 [Chayim Be-Hamtana]

Books in Translation

German: Munich, Bertelsmann, 2002
Our new Spring 2019 catalogue of new books is up.
Click here to see it
"An original, extraordinary book" The Brenner prize committee
Congratulations to Noga Albalach, winner of the 2018 Brenner prize for her book "The Old Man (Farewell)".
Residencies in Vienna and Salzburg
In co-operation with KulturKontakt Austria, the Austrian Federal Chancellery offers 50 residencies in Vienna and Salzburg for the year 2019. Applications can be submitted for literature, literature for children and young adults and literary translations. Please note the deadline of September 30th, 2018.
Call for applications English speakers: Stay culture in Paris (deadline: June 12th, 2018)
Details in the attached link
Congratulations to Sami Berdugo and Shoham Smith, recipients of the 2018 Bialik Prize, one of the most prestigious literary prizes in Israel!

The Ministry of Culture and Sport announced the names of the winners of the Arik Einstein Veterans Artists Prize.
A prize of 50,000 NIS was given to each of the 21 artists who worked and are still working to promote Israeli culture in various fields -Music, dance, theater, plastic arts, cinema and literature. In the literature category the winners were Ronny Someck, Jacob Buchan and Shlomit Cohen-Assif. Also, Anat Masiach is among the recipient of the prize for debut literary works. Congratulations!
MHL - New webzine starting soon!