Home  \  Authors  \  Authors  \ 

Nathan Shaham

Nathan Shaham was born in Tel Aviv in 1925. He fought in the elite Palmach unit during Israel's 1948 War of Independence and has been a member of Kibbutz Beit Alfa since 1945. Shaham has served as cultural attache in New York, vice-chairman of the Israel Broadcasting Authority, and editor-in-chief of Sifriat Poalim Publishing House. Shaham is a well-known fiction writer and dramatist. He has published over 40 books. He has received, among others awards, the Shlonsky Prize (1958), the Bialik Prize (1988), the American National Jewish Book Award (1992), the Neuman Prize (1993), the ADAI-WIZO Prize for The Rosendorf Quartet (Italy, 2005) the Prime Minister's Prize (2007) and the Israel Prize for Literature (2012).

Nathan Shaham

Books Published in Hebrew

Grain and Lead (stories), Sifriat Poalim, 1948 [Dagan Ve-Oferet]
The Gods Are Lazy (stories), Sifriat Poalim, 1949 [Ha-Elim Atzelim]
Always Us (stories), Sifriat Poalim, 1952 [Tamid Anachnu]
A Stone on the Wellʹs Mouth (novel), Sifriat Poalim, 1956 [Even Al Pi Ha-Beʹer]
Veteransʹ Housing (stories), Sifriat Poalim, 1958 [Shikun Vatikim]
The Wisdom of the Poor (novel), Sifriat Poalim, 1960 [Chochmat Ha-Misken]
Citrus Scent (novel), Sifriat Poalim, 1962 [Reyach Hadarim]
The Book of Portraits (stories), Sifriat Poalim, 1968 [Sefer Ha-Dioknaʹot]
First Person Plural (novel), Sifriat Poalim, 1968 [Guf Rishon Rabim]
Round Trip (novel), Am Oved, 1972 [Haloch Va-Shov]
Witness for the King (novel), Am Oved, 1975 [Ed Ha-Melech]
Talk to the Wind (novel), Sifriat Poalim, 1975 [Daber El Ha-Ruach]
The Other Side of the Wall (novellas), Am Oved, 1977 [Kirot Etz Dakim]
Green Autumn (stories), Sifriat Poalim, 1979 [Stav Yarok]
Bone to the Bone (novel) , Am Oved, 1981 [Etzem El Atzmo]
Still Silent Voice (novel), Sifriat Poalim, 1983 [Dmama Daka]
The Streets of Ashkelon (novellas), Am Oved, 1985 [Chutzot Ashkelon]
The Rosendorf Quartet (novel) , Am Oved, 1987; Am Oved/ Yedioth Ahronoth, 2011 [Revi'iyat Rosendorf]
Series (novel) , Am Oved, 1992 [Sidra]
Hot Dogs (stories), Sifriat Poalim, 1993 [Naknikiyot Chamot]
The Heart of Tel Aviv (novel) , Am Oved, 1996 [Lev Tel Aviv]
Expect a Letter (stories), Sifriat Poalim, 1999 [Michtav Ba-Derech]
Rosendorfʹs Shadow (novel) , Am Oved, 2001 [Tzilo Shel Rosendorf]
A Bell in Ch’ongiu (novel) , Yedioth Ahronoth, 2005 [Paʹamon Be-Tshongiu]
The Exodus Foundation (novel) , Zmora-Bitan, 2006 [Keren Exodus]
Far Away From Tashkent (novel), Zmora Bitan, 2008 [Harchek Mi-Tashkent]
Tabula Rasa (novel), Zmora-Bitan, 2010 [Luach Chalak]
Dormant Account (novel) , Zmora-Bitan, 2013 [Cheshbon Radum]
Itʹs Time to Discover (children), Sifriat Poalim, 1959; 1963; 1986 [Kvar Mutar Legalot]
Thatʹs Because (children), Sifriat Poalim, 1964 [Zebiglal]
Who Sent the Bird (children), Sifriat Poalim, 1972 [Mi Shalach Et Ha-Tzipor]
Meetings in Moscow (non-fiction), Sifriat Poalim, 1957 [Pgishot Be-Moskva]
The Journey to the Land of Kush (travel), Massada, 1962 [Masa Le-Eretz Kush]
A Journey in Eretz Israel (travel), Levin-Epstein, 1966 [Masa Be-Eretz Israel]
Mountain and Home (non-fiction), Sifriat Poalim, 1984 [Ha-Har Ve Ha-Bayit]
Four in One Bar (non-fiction), Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1987 [Arbaʹa Be-Teiva Achat]
Sealed Book (non-fiction), Sifriat Poalim, 1988 [Sefer Chatum]
The Desert Generation (non-fiction), Sifriat Poalim, 1991 [Dor Ha-Midbar]
Goodbye Friends (non-fiction), Dvir, 2004 [Shalom Chaverim]
Mum (memoir), Zmora-Bitan, 2015 [Sipur Ha-Kisuy Ha-Kaful Shel Ima Sheli]
Theyʹll Be Here Tomorrow, Sifriat Poalim, 1949; Or Am, 1989 [Hem Yagiu Machar]
Call Me Siomka, Sifriat Poalim, 1950; Or Am, 1989 [Kra Li Siomka]
Yohanan Bar Hama, Sifriat Poalim, 1952 [Yohanan Bar Hama]
New Account, Or-Am, 1989 [Cheshbon Chadash]
Theyʹll Arrive Tomorrow [Cameri, 1950]
Call Me Siomka [Cameri, 1950]
New Account [Cameri, 1954]
Four Eyes and a Pencil [Zuta, 1961]
Cost Price [Zuta, 1961]
The Bicycle [Bimat Hakibbutz, 1963]

Books in Translation

English: New York, Grove Press, 1993
German: Frankfurt, Dvora/Alibaba, 1990; pback: Frankfurt, Insel/Suhrkamp, 1994
English: New York, Grove Weidenfeld, 1991; pback: New York, Grove Press, 1993
Russian: Jerusalem, Biblioteka Aliya, 1994
Chinese: Guangzhou, Flower City, 1995
Czech: Prague, Paseka, 2001
Italian: Florence, Giuntina, 2004
Spanish: Buenos Aires, Leviatán, 2014

This Land We Love
English: New York, Sabra Books, 1970

The Other Side of the Wall
English: Philadelphia, Jewish Publication Society, 1983

They'll Be Here Tomorrow (play)
English: Jerusalem, World Zionist Organization, 1957

The Anglers (play)
English: Tel Aviv, Council for Art and Culture, (date unknown)

Missing Persons (play)
English: Jerusalem, Kol Israel, 1960
Our new Spring 2019 catalogue of new books is up.
Click here to see it
"An original, extraordinary book" The Brenner prize committee
Congratulations to Noga Albalach, winner of the 2018 Brenner prize for her book "The Old Man (Farewell)".
Residencies in Vienna and Salzburg
In co-operation with KulturKontakt Austria, the Austrian Federal Chancellery offers 50 residencies in Vienna and Salzburg for the year 2019. Applications can be submitted for literature, literature for children and young adults and literary translations. Please note the deadline of September 30th, 2018.
Call for applications English speakers: Stay culture in Paris (deadline: June 12th, 2018)
Details in the attached link
Congratulations to Sami Berdugo and Shoham Smith, recipients of the 2018 Bialik Prize, one of the most prestigious literary prizes in Israel!

The Ministry of Culture and Sport announced the names of the winners of the Arik Einstein Veterans Artists Prize.
A prize of 50,000 NIS was given to each of the 21 artists who worked and are still working to promote Israeli culture in various fields -Music, dance, theater, plastic arts, cinema and literature. In the literature category the winners were Ronny Someck, Jacob Buchan and Shlomit Cohen-Assif. Also, Anat Masiach is among the recipient of the prize for debut literary works. Congratulations!
MHL - New webzine starting soon!