Home  \  Authors  \  Authors  \ 

Ortsion Bartana

Ortsion Bartana was born in 1949 in Tel Aviv, and still lives in his native city. He received his MA in literature and philosophy from Tel Aviv University and his PhD in Hebrew literature from Bar Ilan University. He is now professor of Hebrew literature at the Ariel University Center. Bartana has served as chairman of the Hebrew Writers Association and editor of Moznayim, the association's journal, and as president of PEN Israel. He has received several awards, among them the Wollenrod Prize (1982), the Kugel Prize (1993), the Bernstein Prize for Literary Studies (1985; 1993) and the Brenner Prize for Poetry (1997).

Books Published in Hebrew
Every Tree has its Sky, Karni, 1967 [Le-Col Ilan Shamayim]
Tormented Travels, Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1975 [Masa'ot Redufim]
Islands and Counties, Sifriat Poalim, 1980 [Iyim U-Mechozot]
A Wonderful Place, Sifriat Poalim, 1987 [Makom Nifla]
Courtyards (poetic prose), Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1991 [Chatzerot]
A Stroll Behind the House, Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1993 [Tiyul Me-Achorei Ha-Bayit]
Bird in Hand, Bitan, 1996 [Tzipor Ba-Yad: Mivchar Shirim 1967-1996]
Love for Balkonies Plants, Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 2001 [Ahava Le-Tzimchei Mirpasot]
Noah's Ark. Maybe (satirical poetry), Tamuz, 2006 [Teivat Noach. Ulai]
After the Rain, Keshev, 2015 [Acharei Ha-Geshem: Shirim Chadashim U-Mivchar Shirim 1964-2014] 

Bonfires (stories), Sifriat Poalim, 1985 [Sreifot]
The Best Hours are the Night Hours (two novellas), Maariv, 1994 [Ha-Sha'ot Ha-Tovot Hen Sh'ot Ha-Layla]
The Place Where Everything Begins (novel), Emda, 2011 [Ha-Makom She-Bo Ha-Kol Matchil]

Studies in the Works of S. Y. Abramovitz, Dekel, 1979 [Mendele Mocher Sfarim: Iyun Bikorti Be-Michlol Yetzirato Shel Abramovitz] 
Testimonial Readings, Papyrus, 1982 [Edut Kri'a] 
Vouchers and Vanguards, Dvir, 1983 [Tlushim Va-Chalutzim: Hitgabshut Ha-Neio-Romantika Ba-Siporet Ha-Ivrit]
Settling Accounts, Aleph, 1985 [Lavo Cheshbon]
Caution, Israeli Literature, Papyrus, 1989 [Zehirut, Sifrut Eretz-Israelit] 
Fantasy in Israeli Literature in the Last Thirty Years (1960-1989), Papyrus/ Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1989 [Ha-Fantasya Be-Siporet Dor Ha-Medina] 
Israeli Literature in the 1980s, The Hebrew Writers Association, 1993 [Shmonim: Sifrut Israelit Ba-Asor Ha-Acharon] 
My Father, an Interval, Tamuz, 1998 [Avi, Pgishat Beinayim: Shirato Shel B. Mordechai U-Tkufato]
End of Century and Beginning of Century, Eked/ The Academic College of Judea and Samaria, 2001 [Sof Me'a Ve-Saf Me'a]
Literature and Philosophy: Meeting Points, Carmel, 2008 [Sifrut U-Filosofya: Nekudat Mifgash]
The Romantic Riddle Of 'Kochavim Bachutz', Keter, 2014 [Ha-Chida Ha-Romantit Shel Kochavim Ba-Chutz] 

Books in Translation
Selected Poems
Swedish: Tollarp, Studiekamratens, 1995 
Russian: Holon, Moria, 1999
Georgian: Kutaisi, 2003
Georgian: Kutaisi, Kutaisi Univ., 2010

Red & Other Stories
Russian: Moscow, Kniga-Sėfer, 2006

Hidden Light (novella)
Swedish: Kristianstad, Accent, 2001
Georgian: Tbilisi, Royal Univ. of Tbilisi, 2007

The Sea Like in Love (poetry)
Yiddish & Hebrew: Tel Aviv, H. Leyvik, 2011

Ortsion Bartana

Books Published in Hebrew

Books in Translation

Congratulations to Zeruya Shalev and Shifra Horn for receiving the 2017 Adei Wizo Prize.

Ayelet Gundar-Goshen's "Waking Lions" is longlisted for the 2018 International Dublin Literary Award
Ayelet Gundar-Goshen's "Waking Lions" is longlisted for the 2018 International Dublin Literary Award! The books on the longlist are selected by 400 libraries worldwide. Titles are nominated on the basis of ‘high literary merit’ as determined by the nominating library.
The second edition of the Letters of Israel festival will take place in Paris from September 8 to 18, 2017
After the success of its first edition, the Lettres d'Israël festival is gaining momentum, with an enriched program: meetings, conversations, readings , Theater, major authors and discoveries. Zeruya Shalev, Orly Castel-bloom, Ayelet Gundar-Goshen, Iris Argaman, and many more will participate. Click here for the full program:
Call for application: Artists in Residence Programme in Austria. Please note the deadline: September 18th, 2017.
In co-operation with KulturKontakt Austria, the Austrian Federal Chancellery makes available 50 residencies to visual artists / art photographers / composers / video and media artists / writers / literary translators and arts and cultural educators in Vienna and Salzburg for the year 2018. For more details:
Yizhak Mayer: "Meet the Author" Event
Ambassador Yizhak Mayer, author of the moving book “Silent Letter” will hold a “meet the author” event in Netanya. For further info about the event: And for more details about the title click here:
ITHL director on Grossman's win
"Grossman winning is not only his own achievement, but the achievement of the Hebrew literature as a whole", - Nilli Cohen on the first Hebrew author to receive Man Booker International Prize. Click here for the full article in Hebrew.
Chana Bloch dies at 77
Chana Bloch, a revered poet and translator from Hebrew and Yiddish, has sadly passed away earlier this month. Among her many remarkable achievements is the wonderful translation of a collection of poems by Dahlia Ravikovitch​ (W. W. Norton & Company). Chana will be greatly missed.
Yitzchak Mayer's personal website goes live
English edition of Yitzchak Mayer's amazing "Silent Letter" is about to come out with Mosaic Press. Learn more about the author's incredible life story on his brand new website.
Dayan on feminism and writing
Following the release of "Transitions" in English, Yael Dayan talks to Lilith Magazine about her past aspirations and present pursuits. Click here to read the full interview.
Gundar-Goshen's Op-Ed for Time
To mark the US publication of "Waking Lions" Ayelet Gundar-Goshen talks about the refugee crisis, internal walls and people behind them in the op-ed for Time. Click here to read the article.
MHL - New webzine starting soon!