Home  \  Authors  \  Authors  \ 

Yitzhak Orpaz

Yitzhak Orpaz-Aurerbach (1921-2015) was born to a hassidic family in Zinkov, former Soviet Union, in and immigrated to pre-state Israel in 1938. During World War II, he served in the Jewish Brigade. Orpaz studied philosophy and literature at Tel Aviv University. He lived for some years on a kibbutz and later pursued a number of professions, including construction, diamond cutting, editing and teaching. Orpaz published novellas, novels, short stories, essays and a book of poetry. He received many literary awards, including the Asher Barash Prize (1962), the Miriam Talpir Prize (1969), the Fichman Prize (1975), the Prime Minister's Prize three times (1976; 1999; 2004), the Israel Efrat award (1985), the Bialik Prize (1986), the Neuman Prize (1997), the President's Prize for Lifetime Achievement (1999) and the Israel Prize (2005).

Yitzhak Orpaz

Books Published in Hebrew

Wild Grass (stories), Machbarot Lesifrut, 1959; Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1979 [Esev Pere]
Skin for Skin (novel), Massada, 1962; Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 2016 [Or Beʹad Or]
The Death of Lysanda (novella) , Sifriat Poalim, 1964 [Mot Lysanda]
The Hunting of the Doe (stories), Daga, 1966 [Tzeyd Ha-Tzviya]
Ants (novella) , Am Oved, 1968; Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1981 [Nemalim]
The Voyage of Daniel (novel), Am Oved, 1969; Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 2014 [Masa Daniel]
Three Novellas (novellas) , Sifriat Poalim, 1972 [Shalosh Novelot: Madrega Tzara; Mot Lysanda; Nemalim]
A City with No Shelter (stories), Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1973 [Ir She-Eyn Ba Mistor]
A House for One (novel), Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1975 [Bayit Le-Adam Echad]
Tomozhenna Street (stories) , Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1979; extended ed. Hakibbutz Hameuchad/ Siman Kriah, 1989 [Rechov Ha-Tomojenna]
The Secular Pilgrim (essays), Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1982 [Ha-Tzalyan Ha-Chiloni: Masa Al Heibet Echad Ba-Siporet Ha-Modernit]
The Mistress (novel), Hakibbutz Hameuchad/ Siman Kriah, 1983 [Ha-Gvira]
A Charming Traitor (novel), Am Oved, 1984 [Ha-Elem]
The Eternal Bride (novel) , Hakibbutz Hameuchad/ Siman Kriah, Keter, 1987 [Ha-Kala Ha-Nitzchit]
Loves and Follies (stories) , Hakibbutz Hameuchad/ Yedioth Ahronoth, 1992 [Ahavot Ktanot, Teirufim Ktanim]
Cruising the Century (poems), Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1993 [Litzloach Et Ha-Mea]
A Night in Santa Paulina (stories & novella), Gvanim, 1997 [Layla Be-Santa Paulina: Sipurim Chadashim Ve-Ha-Novella Nemalim]
Age of Treason (trilogy) (novel) , Hakibbutz Hameuchad/ Bialik Institute, 1999 [Lifnei Ha-Raʹash: Trilogya Tel-Avivit]
The Death of Lysanda and Other Novellas, Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 2015 [Mot Lisanda Ve-Novelot Acherot]. See: Three Novellas, above

Books in Translation

English: London, Jonathan Cape, 1970
Italian: Milan, Serra & Riva, 1988
French: Paris, Liana Levi, 1988
French: Paris, Liana Levi, 1988; 2006
Italian: Viterbo, Stampa Alternativa, 1995; 2008

Ants & The Death of Lysanda [The Death of Lysanda: Two Novellas] 
English: Champaign, IL, Dalkey Archive, 2013

French: Paris, Liana Levi, 1990
Chinese: Nanjing, Yilin Press, 1996
French: Arles, Actes Sud, 1991

A Narrow Stair
French: Paris, Liana Levi, 1993

Congratulations to Barabara Harshav for the 2018 PEN Medal for Translation!
The prize is given to a translator whose career has demonstrated a commitment to excellence through the body of their work. Barbara Harshav has been translating works from French, German, Hebrew and Yiddish for over twenty years and has currently published over forty books of translation. Among the many Hebrew authors she has translated: Yoram Kaniuk, Agnon, Yehudit Hendel, Yehuda Amichai and many more.
The Ministry of Culture and Sport announced the names of the winners of the Arik Einstein Veterans Artists Prize.
A prize of 50,000 NIS was given to each of the 21 artists who worked and are still working to promote Israeli culture in various fields -Music, dance, theater, plastic arts, cinema and literature. In the literature category the winners were Ronny Someck, Jacob Buchan and Shlomit Cohen-Assif. Also, Anat Masiach is among the recipient of the prize for debut literary works. Congratulations!
Congratulations to Ronit Matalon, the recipient of the 2017 Brenner prize for her book 'And the Bride Closed the Door". And, congratulations to Amir ziv, the recipent of the first ever Brenner prize for debut novels.
Ronit Matalon's book tells the story of Margie, a young bride, who shuts herself up in her mother's bedroom and declares that she won’t get married. Her family gathers at the locked door, not knowing what to do. Amir Ziv tells a story that begins as an apparently routine correspondence between a prying citizen, secretly in love with his neighbor, and a conscientious municipal clerk, and developes into an uncovering of a great underlying drama.
The fourth German-Hebrew/Hebrew-German translation workshop April 29 to May 5, 2018 Beit Ben-Yehuda, Jerusalem
After workshops in Berlin, Jerusalem and Straelen, the workshop will return to Jerusalem this spring. This workshop will focus on the participants translations. These are unfinished translations that have not yet been published. These will be sent to all participants. The workshop is open to 10 participants and is intended for literary translators with experience and publications. Workshop facilitators: Anne Birkenhauer and Gadi Goldberg Prerequisites: At least one published translation Duration: Sunday, April 29, 2018 until Saturday, May 5, 2018 Location: Beit Ben-Yehuda, 28 Ein Gedi St., 93383 Jerusalem Participation fee: Participation (Accommodation and meals) is free of charge. Travel / flight expenses will be refunded. For more details and for the documents required for submitting application: Anne Birkenhauer, and Gadi Goldberg,
Ayelet Gundar-Goshen's "Waking Lions" is one of the 100 notable books of 2017 of the "New York Times".

Congratulations to Zeruya Shalev and Shifra Horn for receiving the 2017 Adei Wizo Prize.

Ayelet Gundar-Goshen's "Waking Lions" is longlisted for the 2018 International Dublin Literary Award
Ayelet Gundar-Goshen's "Waking Lions" is longlisted for the 2018 International Dublin Literary Award! The books on the longlist are selected by 400 libraries worldwide. Titles are nominated on the basis of ‘high literary merit’ as determined by the nominating library.
Yitzchak Mayer's personal website goes live
English edition of Yitzchak Mayer's amazing "Silent Letter" is about to come out with Mosaic Press. Learn more about the author's incredible life story on his brand new website.
MHL - New webzine starting soon!