Home  \  Authors  \  Authors  \ 

Naomi Frankel

Naomi Frankel Ben-Gur (1918-2009) was born in Berlin to an assimilated Jewish family. She immigrated to Jerusalem in 1934, and later studied Jewish History and Kabala at the Hebrew University. She lived on Kibbutz Beit Alpha until 1970, when she began an eight-year stint in the Israeli Navy where she held the rank of major. In 1982, she and her family moved to Kiryat Arba, and later to Hebron where she lived until her death. Frankel wrote fiction for both adults and children. She was awarded several prizes, including the Ruppin Prize (1956), the Ussishkin Prize (1962), the Prime Minister's Prize (1970), the Walter Schwimmer Award for Journalism (1972) and the Neumann Prize (2005).             

Books Published in Hebrew            
Saul and Yohanna (trilogy), Sifriat Poalim, vol. 1: 1956; vol. 2: 1961; vol. 3: 1967; Am Oved, 1976; Gefen, 1999 [Shaul Ve-Yohanna]            
Racheli and the Little Man (children), E. Lewin-Epstein, 1972; Am Oved, 1975; 1988 [Racheli Ve-Ha-Ishon]
My Beloved Friend (novel), Am Oved, 1973; Gefen, 2000 [Dodi Ve-Re'ee]
Wild Flower (novel), Am Oved, 1981; Gefen, 2000 [Tzemach Bar]            
A Boy Growing Up on the Banks of the Assi (youth), Ministry of Defense, 1977 [Na'ar Tzamach Bi-Gdot Ha-Assi]            
Morning Star (novel), Gefen, 1999 [Barkai]
Farewell (novel), Gefen, 2003 [Preda]            

Books in translation
Saul and Yohanna
Russian: Tel Aviv, Kniga-Sefer, 2011

Naomi Frankel

Books Published in Hebrew

Books in Translation

Our new Spring 2019 catalogue of new books is up.
Click here to see it
"An original, extraordinary book" The Brenner prize committee
Congratulations to Noga Albalach, winner of the 2018 Brenner prize for her book "The Old Man (Farewell)".
Residencies in Vienna and Salzburg
In co-operation with KulturKontakt Austria, the Austrian Federal Chancellery offers 50 residencies in Vienna and Salzburg for the year 2019. Applications can be submitted for literature, literature for children and young adults and literary translations. Please note the deadline of September 30th, 2018.
Call for applications English speakers: Stay culture in Paris (deadline: June 12th, 2018)
Details in the attached link
Congratulations to Sami Berdugo and Shoham Smith, recipients of the 2018 Bialik Prize, one of the most prestigious literary prizes in Israel!

The Ministry of Culture and Sport announced the names of the winners of the Arik Einstein Veterans Artists Prize.
A prize of 50,000 NIS was given to each of the 21 artists who worked and are still working to promote Israeli culture in various fields -Music, dance, theater, plastic arts, cinema and literature. In the literature category the winners were Ronny Someck, Jacob Buchan and Shlomit Cohen-Assif. Also, Anat Masiach is among the recipient of the prize for debut literary works. Congratulations!
MHL - New webzine starting soon!