Home  \  Authors  \  Authors  \ 

Gabriel Preil

Gabriel Preil (1911-1993) was born in Estonia and immigrated to New York in 1922. Although he also wrote in Yiddish and English, Preil was primarily a modern Hebrew poet. His poems appeared widely in translation in English-language magazines and in numerous anthologies. He translated many American poets, including Robert Frost and Carl Sandburg. The recipient of several literary prizes, including the New York University Neuman Award and the Bialik Prize, he was also awarded an honorary degree in Hebrew Literature from the Hebrew Union College.

Books Published in Hebrew 
Landscape of Sun and Frost, Ohel, 1944 [Nof, Shemesh Ve-Kfor]
Candles Against the Stars, Bialik Institute, 1954 [Ner Mul Kochavim]
Map of Evening, Dvir, 1961 [Mapat Erev]
Fire and Silence, Massada, 1968 [Ha-Esh Ve-Ha-Demamah]
Of Time and Place, Bialik Institute, 1972 [Mi-Toch Zman Ve-Nof]
Poems from End to End, Schocken, 1976 [Shirim Mi-Shnei Ktzavot]
Courteous to Myself, Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1980 [Adiv Le-Atzmi]
Fifty Poems in the Wilderness, Hakibbutz Hameuchad/Siman Kriah, 1987 [Hamishim Shir Ba-Midbar]
Collector of Autumns, Bialik Institute, 1993 [Asfan Stavim]

Books in Translation
Selected Poems
English: St. Louis, Cauldron Press, 1979; Philadelphia, Jewish Publication Society of America, 1985; New York, Cross-Cultural Communications, 1992

Gabriel Preil

Books Published in Hebrew

Books in Translation

Ayelet Gundar-Goshen's "Waking Lions" is one of the 100 notable books of 2017 of the "New York Times".

Congratulations to Zeruya Shalev and Shifra Horn for receiving the 2017 Adei Wizo Prize.

Ayelet Gundar-Goshen's "Waking Lions" is longlisted for the 2018 International Dublin Literary Award
Ayelet Gundar-Goshen's "Waking Lions" is longlisted for the 2018 International Dublin Literary Award! The books on the longlist are selected by 400 libraries worldwide. Titles are nominated on the basis of ‘high literary merit’ as determined by the nominating library.
The second edition of the Letters of Israel festival will take place in Paris from September 8 to 18, 2017
After the success of its first edition, the Lettres d'Israël festival is gaining momentum, with an enriched program: meetings, conversations, readings , Theater, major authors and discoveries. Zeruya Shalev, Orly Castel-bloom, Ayelet Gundar-Goshen, Iris Argaman, and many more will participate. Click here for the full program:
Call for application: Artists in Residence Programme in Austria. Please note the deadline: September 18th, 2017.
In co-operation with KulturKontakt Austria, the Austrian Federal Chancellery makes available 50 residencies to visual artists / art photographers / composers / video and media artists / writers / literary translators and arts and cultural educators in Vienna and Salzburg for the year 2018. For more details:
Yizhak Mayer: "Meet the Author" Event
Ambassador Yizhak Mayer, author of the moving book “Silent Letter” will hold a “meet the author” event in Netanya. For further info about the event: And for more details about the title click here:
ITHL director on Grossman's win
"Grossman winning is not only his own achievement, but the achievement of the Hebrew literature as a whole", - Nilli Cohen on the first Hebrew author to receive Man Booker International Prize. Click here for the full article in Hebrew.
Yitzchak Mayer's personal website goes live
English edition of Yitzchak Mayer's amazing "Silent Letter" is about to come out with Mosaic Press. Learn more about the author's incredible life story on his brand new website.
MHL - New webzine starting soon!