Home  \  Authors  \  Authors  \ 

Igal Sarna

Igal Sarna was born in Tel Aviv in 1952. He is a member of the editorial board of the mass circulation daily, Yedioth Ahronoth, as well as a renowned investigative reporter. In 1998, Sarna received a Fullbright fellowship for authors and spent a semester at the Iowa University International Writer's Conference. He was awarded the French WIZO Prize for his collection of short stories, The Man Who Fell in the Puddle (1999) and the Prime Minister's Prize (2015).

Igal Sarna

Books Published in Hebrew

Yona Wallach (biography), Keter/ Sifriat Zagagi, 1993; new ed. Keter, 2009 [Yona Wallach: Biografia]
The Memory Hunter (novel) , Am Oved, 1997 [Tzayad Ha-Zikaron]
Where Happiness Is (stories), Yedioth Ahronoth, 2000 [Makom Shel Osher]
Muzunga (non-fiction), Yedioth Ahronoth, 2003 [Muzungo]
Flood (novel), Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 2005 [Shitafon]
State Witness (non-fiction), Xargol, 2007 [Ed Medina]
Tender Hand (novel), Keter, 2008 [Yad Anuga]
Shady Agent (biography), Masmerim, 2010 [Sochen Mefukpak]
2023 (novel), Kipod, 2014 [2023]
A Skin Too Few (novel), Yedioth Ahronoth, 2016 [PshutOr: Chronika Shel Lev Shavur]
The Last Year (autobiography), Yedioth Ahronoth, 2017 [Ha-Shana Ha-Achrona]

Books in Translation

French: Paris, Grasset, 2000

The Man Who Fell in the Puddle
Italian (2 vols): Florence, Giuntina, 1997; 1998
French: Paris, Grasset, 1999
English: New York, Pantheon/Random House, 2002

Tender Hand
French: Paris, Grasset et Fasquelle, 2010

"An original, extraordinary book" The Brenner prize committee
Congratulations to Noga Albalach, winner of the 2018 Brenner prize for her book "The Old Man (Farewell)".
Residencies in Vienna and Salzburg
In co-operation with KulturKontakt Austria, the Austrian Federal Chancellery offers 50 residencies in Vienna and Salzburg for the year 2019. Applications can be submitted for literature, literature for children and young adults and literary translations. Please note the deadline of September 30th, 2018.
Call for applications English speakers: Stay culture in Paris (deadline: June 12th, 2018)
Details in the attached link
Congratulations to Sami Berdugo and Shoham Smith, recipients of the 2018 Bialik Prize, one of the most prestigious literary prizes in Israel!

The Ministry of Culture and Sport announced the names of the winners of the Arik Einstein Veterans Artists Prize.
A prize of 50,000 NIS was given to each of the 21 artists who worked and are still working to promote Israeli culture in various fields -Music, dance, theater, plastic arts, cinema and literature. In the literature category the winners were Ronny Someck, Jacob Buchan and Shlomit Cohen-Assif. Also, Anat Masiach is among the recipient of the prize for debut literary works. Congratulations!
The fourth German-Hebrew/Hebrew-German translation workshop November 4th to 10th, 2018 Beit Ben-Yehuda, Jerusalem
After workshops in Berlin, Jerusalem and Straelen, the workshop will return to Jerusalem this spring. This workshop will focus on the participants translations. These are unfinished translations that have not yet been published. These will be sent to all participants. The workshop is open to 10 participants and is intended for literary translators with experience and publications. Workshop facilitators: Anne Birkenhauer and Gadi Goldberg Prerequisites: At least one published translation Duration: November 4th 2018 until November 10th, 2018 Location: Beit Ben-Yehuda, 28 Ein Gedi St., 93383 Jerusalem Participation fee: Participation (Accommodation and meals) is free of charge. Travel / flight expenses will be refunded. For more details and for the documents required for submitting application: Anne Birkenhauer, and Gadi Goldberg,
Ayelet Gundar-Goshen's "Waking Lions" is one of the 100 notable books of 2017 of the "New York Times".

MHL - New webzine starting soon!