Home  \  Authors  \  Authors  \ 

Gershon Shaked

Gershon Shaked (1929-2006) was born in Vienna, Austria, and arrived in Israel with his family in 1939. He studied at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and received a PhD in Hebrew literature. He also studied German, English and French literature in Switzerland. Shaked was Professor Emeritus of Hebrew Literature at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and also taught at Ben-Gurion University of the Negev. In addition to many books in Hebrew, he was the author of more than thirty books of criticism in several languages. Shaked received the Bialik Prize (1986), the Israel Prize for Literary Scholarship (1992) and the Bahat Award for Non-Fiction (2004).

Gershon Shaked

Books Published in Hebrew

Sons [Immigrants] (novel) , Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 2001 [Mehagrim]
On Four Stories, The Jewish Agency for Israel, 1963 [Al Arbaʹa Sipurim: Prakim Bi-Ysodot Ha-Sipur]
Laughter and Tears: Studies in Mendele Mocher Sforimʹs Works, The Hebrew Writers Association, Massada, 1965; 1974 [Bein Schok Le-Dema: Iyunim Bi-Ytzirato Shel Mendele Mocher Sfarim]
On Three Plays, The Jewish Agency for Israel, 1968 [Al Shlosha Machazot: Prakim Bi-Ysodot Ha-Machaze]
The Hebrew Historical Drama in the Twentieth Century, Bialik Institute, 1970 [Ha-Machaze Ha-Ivri Ha-History Bi-Tkufat Ha-Tchiya]
If You Ever Forget: Essays on American-Jewish Literature, Eked, 1971 [Im Tishkach Ei-Faʹam: Iyunim Be-Sifrut Yehudit-Amerikaʹit]
A New Direction in Hebrew Narrative, Sifriat Poalim, 1971; extended ed. 1974 [Gal Hadash Ba-Siporet Ha-Ivrit]
Dead End, Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1973 [Le-Lo Motza]
The Narrative Art of S.Y. Agnon, Sifriat Poalim, 1973; 1976 [Omanut Ha-Sipur Shel Agnon]
Hebrew Narrative Fiction 1880-1980 [5 vols.], Hakibbutz Hameuchad, Keter, 1977-1998 [Ha-Siporet Ha-Ivrit 1880-1980]
No Other Place (essays), Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1983; extended ed. 1988 [Ein Makom Acher]
Wave After Wave in Hebrew Narrative, Keter. 1985 [Gal Achar Gal Ba-Siporet Ha-Ivrit]
Four Chapters in Applied Reception Theory, The Katz Research Institute for Hebrew Literature/ Tel Aviv Univ., 1987 [Yetzirot Ve-Nimaneihen: Arbaʹa Prakim Be-Torat Ha-Hitkablut]
S.Y. Agnon - A Writer with a Thousand Faces, Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1989 [Panim Acherot Bi-Ytzirato Shel S.Y. Agnon]
About Stories and Plays: Elements of Short Stories and Plays, Keter, 1992 [Al Sipurim U-Machazot]
Literature Then, Here and Now, Zmora-Bitan, 1993 [Sifrut Az, Kan Ve-Achshav]
Mostly Mendele, The Hebrew Univ., Magnes Press, 2004 [Mendele, Lefanav Ve-Acharav]
Identity: Jewish Literatures in European Languages, Haifa Univ. Press, 2006 [Zehut: Sifruyot Yehudiyot Bi-Lshonot Laʹaz]
Group Portrait: Aspects of Israeli Literature and Culture, Dvir, Heksherim Institute/ Ben-Gurion Univ., 2009 [Tmuna Kvutzatit: Heibetim Be-Sifrut Israel U-Ve-Tarbutah]

Books in Translation

The Shadows Within: Essays on the Modern Jewish Writers
English: Philadelphia, The Jewish Publication Society, 1987

Shmuel Yosef Agnon: A Revolutionary Traditionalist
English: New York, New York University Press, 1989

No Other Place
German: Berlin, Suhrkamp Judischer Verlag, 1992

Modern Hebrew Fiction (abridged)
German: Frankfurt, Judischer Verlag bei Suhrkamp, 1996
English: Bloomington, Indiana Univ. Press, 2000; New York/London, Toby Press, 2008
Turkish: Ankara, Phoenix Yayinevi, 2007
Chinese: Beijing, Commercial Press, 2009
Italian: Milan, Terra Santa, 2011

The New Tradition: Essays on Modern Hebrew Literature
English: New York, Hebrew Union College Press/ Wayne State Univ. Press, 2006
Congratulations to Zeruya Shalev and Shifra Horn for receiving the 2017 Adei Wizo Prize.

Ayelet Gundar-Goshen's "Waking Lions" is longlisted for the 2018 International Dublin Literary Award
Ayelet Gundar-Goshen's "Waking Lions" is longlisted for the 2018 International Dublin Literary Award! The books on the longlist are selected by 400 libraries worldwide. Titles are nominated on the basis of ‘high literary merit’ as determined by the nominating library.
The second edition of the Letters of Israel festival will take place in Paris from September 8 to 18, 2017
After the success of its first edition, the Lettres d'Israël festival is gaining momentum, with an enriched program: meetings, conversations, readings , Theater, major authors and discoveries. Zeruya Shalev, Orly Castel-bloom, Ayelet Gundar-Goshen, Iris Argaman, and many more will participate. Click here for the full program:
Call for application: Artists in Residence Programme in Austria. Please note the deadline: September 18th, 2017.
In co-operation with KulturKontakt Austria, the Austrian Federal Chancellery makes available 50 residencies to visual artists / art photographers / composers / video and media artists / writers / literary translators and arts and cultural educators in Vienna and Salzburg for the year 2018. For more details:
Yizhak Mayer: "Meet the Author" Event
Ambassador Yizhak Mayer, author of the moving book “Silent Letter” will hold a “meet the author” event in Netanya. For further info about the event: And for more details about the title click here:
ITHL director on Grossman's win
"Grossman winning is not only his own achievement, but the achievement of the Hebrew literature as a whole", - Nilli Cohen on the first Hebrew author to receive Man Booker International Prize. Click here for the full article in Hebrew.
Chana Bloch dies at 77
Chana Bloch, a revered poet and translator from Hebrew and Yiddish, has sadly passed away earlier this month. Among her many remarkable achievements is the wonderful translation of a collection of poems by Dahlia Ravikovitch​ (W. W. Norton & Company). Chana will be greatly missed.
Yitzchak Mayer's personal website goes live
English edition of Yitzchak Mayer's amazing "Silent Letter" is about to come out with Mosaic Press. Learn more about the author's incredible life story on his brand new website.
Dayan on feminism and writing
Following the release of "Transitions" in English, Yael Dayan talks to Lilith Magazine about her past aspirations and present pursuits. Click here to read the full interview.
Gundar-Goshen's Op-Ed for Time
To mark the US publication of "Waking Lions" Ayelet Gundar-Goshen talks about the refugee crisis, internal walls and people behind them in the op-ed for Time. Click here to read the article.
MHL - New webzine starting soon!