Home  \  Authors  \  Authors  \ 

Edna Shemesh

Edna Shemesh was born in Romania in 1953 and came to Israel with her family when she was five. She holds a BA in English literature and theater studies from the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. Shemesh works as a lecturer, and as a Hebrew-English-Hebrew translator; she is also a freelance journalist for the Hebrew and English-language press in Israel. Her short stories have been published in a number of literary periodicals. Shemesh has received the Women Writers of the Mediterranean Award sponsored by UNESCO (France, 2002), and won first prize in a short story competition held by the literary journal Iton 77 (2004). Her short story collection Amstel was shortlisted for the prestigious Sapir Literary Prize (2008), and in 2017 she received a MacDowell fellowship.

Books Published in Hebrew

Amstel (stories), Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 2007 [Amstel] (novel) , Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 2007
The Sand Dunes of Paris (novel) , Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 2013 [Dyunot Ha-Chol Shel Paris]
Hotel Malta (novel) , Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 2015 [Otel Malta]

Books in Translation

English: Tel Aviv, NYO Publishing House, 2017
English: Tel Aviv, NYO Publishing House, 2017; Kindle book: Amazon Digital Services, 2017


English: The Author, 2017, NYO Publishing House, 2017; Kindle book: Amazon Digital Services, 2017

Our new Spring 2019 catalogue of new books is up.
Click here to see it
"An original, extraordinary book" The Brenner prize committee
Congratulations to Noga Albalach, winner of the 2018 Brenner prize for her book "The Old Man (Farewell)".
Residencies in Vienna and Salzburg
In co-operation with KulturKontakt Austria, the Austrian Federal Chancellery offers 50 residencies in Vienna and Salzburg for the year 2019. Applications can be submitted for literature, literature for children and young adults and literary translations. Please note the deadline of September 30th, 2018.
Call for applications English speakers: Stay culture in Paris (deadline: June 12th, 2018)
Details in the attached link
Congratulations to Sami Berdugo and Shoham Smith, recipients of the 2018 Bialik Prize, one of the most prestigious literary prizes in Israel!

The Ministry of Culture and Sport announced the names of the winners of the Arik Einstein Veterans Artists Prize.
A prize of 50,000 NIS was given to each of the 21 artists who worked and are still working to promote Israeli culture in various fields -Music, dance, theater, plastic arts, cinema and literature. In the literature category the winners were Ronny Someck, Jacob Buchan and Shlomit Cohen-Assif. Also, Anat Masiach is among the recipient of the prize for debut literary works. Congratulations!
MHL - New webzine starting soon!