Haim Hazaz

Haim Hazaz (1898-1973) was born in the Ukraine and spent his childhood in a small village with a mixed population of gentiles and Jews. He received a traditional Jewish education, but at the age of sixteen he left the village to pursue a secular education in Kiev, Kharkov and Moscow.
In 1921 he left Russia and spent a year and a half in Constantinople with Zionist pioneers. He then traveled to Paris, where he lived for the next nine years. In Paris he wrote his first fiction -- three stories on the Russian revolution and the poetic story "Bridegroom of Blood", which was praised by T.S. Eliot.
In the summer of 1928 he visited Berlin, where he witnessed the growth of the Nazi movement and sensed the forthcoming catastrophe. In Berlin he conceived the idea for his play The End of Days, although he did not begin writing it until he arrived in pre-state Israel, where it was first published in 1933. After his arrival in spring 1931 Hazaz made his home in Jerusalem, where he lived and worked until his death, and where he is buried on the Mount of Olives.
Hazaz left a legacy of unpublished manuscripts, and a  number of his works have been translated into other languages. Hazaz was given the title "Freeman of Jerusalem."  He was an Honorary Member of the Hebrew Language Academy and President of the Hebrew Writers Association. He received Honorary Doctorates from the Jewish Theological Seminary in New York, Dropsie College in Philadelphia, and the Hebrew University of Jerusalem.            

Books Published in Hebrew            
A Settlement in the Woods (novel), Stybel, 1930 [Be-Yishuv Shel Ya'ar]
Broken Millstones (stories), Am Oved, 1942 [Reichayim Shvurim]
Thou That Dwellest in the Gardens (novel), Am Oved, 1944 [Ha-Yoshevet Ba-Ganim]
Seething Stones (stories), Am Oved, 1946 [Avanim Rotchot]
Yaish (novel, 4 vols.), Am Oved, 1947 [Yaish]
The End of Days (play), Am Oved, 1950 [Be-Ketz Ha-Yamim]
Inverted Shadow (stories), Am Oved, 1955 [Tzel Hafuch]
Gates of Bronze (novel, 2 vols.), Am Oved, 1956 [Dlatot Nechoshet]
Zodiac Lights (stories), Am Oved, 1958 [Chagorat Mazalot]
Sin Offering, Machbarot Lesifrut, 1960 [Chatan Damim]
The Gallows (novel), Am Oved, 1963 [Be-Kolar Echad]
Collected Works [12 vols.], Am Oved, 1968 [Kol Kitvei Haim Hazaz]
Selected Stories, Dvir, 1969 [Sipurim Nivcharim]
Sundial (stories), Am Oved, 1973 [Even Sha'ot]
Bell and Pomegranate (stories), Am Oved, 1974 [Pa'amon Ve-Rimon]
The Right of Redemption (non-fiction), Am Oved, 1977 [Mishpat Ha-Geula]
Stories of the Revolution (stories), Am Oved, 1980 [Pirkei Mahapecha]
Ten Stories, Am Oved, 1988 [Asara Sipurim]
The Sermon and Selected Stories, Dvir, 1991 [Ha-Drasha Ve-Sipurim Nivcharim]
Yimla (story), Even Hoshen, 2005 [Yimla]
In the Shadow of Kingdoms (stories), Bialik Institute, 2009 [Be-Tzilan Shel Malchuyot]

Books in Translation            
The Gallows            
French: Paris, Calmann-Levy, 1963            
Swedish: Stockholm, Natur och Kultur, 1967            

Mori Sa'id [Thou That Dwellest in the Gardens]
English: New York, Abelard-Schuman, 1956            

Zodiac Lights            
Yiddish: New York, Der Kval, 1964

Gates of Bronze

English: Philadelphia, Jewish Publication Society of America, 1975; New Milford, CT/ London, Toby Press, 2005

The End of Days

English: Tel Aviv, The Institute for the Translation of Hebrew Literature, 1982

The Sermon & Other Stories 
English: New Milford, CT, Toby Press, 2005 

Haim Hazaz