David Schutz

David Schutz (1941-2017) was born in Berlin and came to Israel with his brother at age seven. After completing his military service, he studied history and philosophy at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem and received both his BA and his MA in history. Schutz worked as a film producer and scriptwriter. He published five novels, three collections of stories and a book for youth. His experiences in Germany as a child was central to his writing: his characters struggle with the aftermath of the Holocaust and suffer its consequences in their daily lives.

David Schutz

Books Published in Hebrew

The Grass and the Sand (novel) , Sifriat Poalim, 1978; Keter, 1992 [Ha-Esev Ve-Ha-Hol]
The Last Chance (stories), Sifriat Poalim, 1980 [Ha-Hizdamnut Ha-Aharona]
I Shall Wait Forever (novel), Zmora-Bitan, 1987 [Ad Olam Ahakeh]
White Rose, Red Rose (novel), Keter, 1988 [Shoshan Lavan, Shoshan Adom]
Avishag (novel), Am Oved, 1989; Keter, 1990 [Avishag]
The Golden Diary (youth) , Domino, 1991 [Yoman Ha-Zahav]
Seven Women (novel), Keter, 1995 [Sheva Nashim]
Like a River (novella & stories), Yedioth Ahronoth, 1997 [Kmo Nachal]
The Day of the Cats (stories), Dvir, Heksherim Institute, 2016 [ Sh'at Ha-Chatulim]

Books in Translation

French: Paris, Hachette, 1981
German: Hildesheim, Claassen, 1992; pback: Frankfurt, Fischer, 1997
German: Frankfurt, Alibaba, 1993; pback: Frankfurt, Fischer, 1997

White Rose, Red Rose
German: Hildesheim, Claassen, 1994; pback: Frankfurt, Fischer, 1997 

German: Hildesheim, Claassen, 1996

German: Hildesheim, Claassen, 1995