Home  \  Authors  \  Authors  \ 

Chana Bat Shahar

Chana Bat Shahar (a nom de plume for an ultra-Orthodox woman), was born in Jerusalem in 1944. Bat-Shahar studied Hebrew literature and history at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem. She began publishing in 1985 and now divides her time between writing and teaching. She has published novels as well as several collections of short stories and novellas. Bat Shahar has received the Prime Minister's Prize (1994) and the Goldberg Prize for The Duda Tree (2014).

Chana Bat Shahar

Books Published in Hebrew

Stories of the Owl (stories), Tcherikover/ M. Neumann, 1985 [Sipurei Ha-Kos]
Calling the Bats (stories) , Keter, 1990 [Likro La-Atalefim]
Dance of the Butterfly (stories) , Keter, 1993 [Rikud Ha-Parpar]
Look, the Fishing Boats (novellas) , Hakibbutz Hameuchad/ Siman Kriah, 1997 [Sham Sirot Ha-Dayig]
Sweet Honey Birds (novellas), Hakibbutz Hameuchad/ Siman Kriah, 1999 [Yonkey Ha-Dvash Ha-Metukim]
The Girl from Lake Michigan (novel) , Hakibbutz Hameuchad/ Siman Kriah, 2002 [Ha-Naʹara Me-Agam Mishigan]
White Nymph, Wild Satyr (novel), Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 2005 [Nimfa Levana, Seʹira Meshugaʹat]
Shadows in the Mirror (novel), Zmora-Bitan, 2008 [Tzlalim Ba-Reʹi]
The Duda Tree (novellas), Hakibbutz hameuchad, 2013 [Etz Ha-Duda]
Sender (novel), Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 2017 [Sender]

Books in Translation


Read more