Home  \  Authors  \  Authors  \ 

Agur Schiff

Agur Schiff was born in Tel Aviv in 1955. He is a graduate of St. Martin's School of Art in London and of the Rijks Art Academy in Amsterdam. He won critical acclaim as a filmmaker before turning to writing: he received the Silver Dragon Award at the Cracow Film Festival, and, for his film Gentila, a prize at the Haifa Film Festival (1997). Schiff started publishing fiction in the early 1990s and has published two collections of stories and five novels. He is a senior lecturer at the Bezalel Academy of Art & Design in Jerusalem where he teaches creative writing, screen writing and cinematic concepts. Schiff was awarded the Prime Minister's Prize (2010), and his last novel, The Latecomers, was shortlisted for the Sapir Prize (2014).

Agur Schiff

Books Published in Hebrew

Dying Animals and Bad Weather (stories), Keter, 1995 [Hayot Metot U-Mezeg Avir]
Stories for Short Trips (stories), Hakibbutz Hameuchad/ Siman Kriah, 2000 [Sipurim Le-Nesiʹot Ktzarot]
Bad Habits (novel), Zmora-Bitan, 2004 [Hergelim Raʹim]
What You Wished For (novel), Zmora-Bitan, 2007 [Ma She-Ratzitem]
In the Sand (novel) , Am Oved, 2010 [Ba-Hol]
The Latecomers (novel) , Am Oved, 2013 [Ha-Meʹachrim]
Anonymity (novel) , Am Oved, 2017 [Almoniyut]
Professor Schiff’s Guilt (novel) , Achuzat Bayit, forthcoming [Ashmato Shel Professor Schiff]

Books in Translation

English: New Vessel Press, forthcoming