Home  \  Authors  \  Authors  \  Benjamin Tammuz  \ 

The Life of Elyakum

Benjamin Tammuz
Elyakum is a trilogy (The Life of Elyakum, Castle in Spain and Hallucinations) about an anti-hero, and the life of an entire Israeli generation. The first section is picaresque - Elyakum is as an innocent who cannot find his place in society. After fighting in the War of Independence, he tries to escape from society around him. He falls in love with Nura, who comes from a foreign culture, and together they go to Spain. Later, he returns to his Jewish identity and homeland. In the third part of the trilogy, written in stream of consciousness, the hero finds himself in an institution for the mentally ill, divorced from reality and sinking into fantasy and childhood memories. His madness saves him from his troubled state.

Tammuz's main achievement lies in the thematic and the conceptual.

A landmark in returning to our past.
Mabat Hadash

English translation available (for publishers only)

Title The Life of Elyakum
Author’s Last Name Tammuz
Author's First Name Benjamin
Genre novel
Publisher (Hebrew) Am Oved
Year of Publication (Hebrew) 1965
Publisher 2 (Hebrew) Keter
Year of Publication 2 (Hebrew) 1988
No. Pages 363 pp.
Book title - Hebrew (phonetic) Chayei Elyakum
Representation Represented by ITHL