Jump to Content

Nathan Shaham

נתן שחם

Nathan Shaham was born in Tel Aviv in 1925. He fought in the elite Palmach unit during Israel’s 1948 War of Independence and has been a member of Kibbutz Beit Alfa since 1945. Shaham has served as cultural attache in New York, vice-chairman of the Israel Broadcasting Authority, and editor-in-chief of Sifriat Poalim Publishing House. Shaham is a well-known fiction writer and dramatist. He has published over 40 books. He has received, among others awards, the Shlonsky Prize (1958), the Bialik Prize (1988), the American National Jewish Book Award (1992), the Neuman Prize (1993), the ADAI-WIZO Prize for The Rosendorf Quartet (Italy, 2005) the Prime Minister’s Prize (2007) and the Israel Prize for Literature (2012).

Photo by: Dan Porges

The Books

Filter by