Home  \  Authors  \  Authors  \ 

Tuvia Ruebner

Tuvia Ruebner was born in Bratislava, Slovakia, in 1924. He came to pre-state Israel in 1941 and joined Kibbutz Merhaviya. From 1963-66 he was General Secretary of the Zionist Organization in Switzerland. Since 1974, he has been professor of comparative literature at Haifa University. Ruebner is a member of the German Language and Literature Academy and of the Mainz Academy of Science and Literature. He published his first book of poetry in 1957 and has since published 11 more collections. He has also published many academic studies, including on Leah Goldberg and Ludwig Strauss, translated Goethe, Shlegel and Kafka into Hebrew, and Agnon, T. Carmi and Dan Pagis - among others - into German. Ruebner has been awarded, in Israel: the Anne Frank Prize, the Jerusalem Prize, the Prime Minister`s Prize twice and the prestigious Israel Prize (2008); abroad he has received the D. Steinberg Prize (Zurich, 1981), the Christian Wagner Prize (Germany, 1994), the Jeannette Schocken Prize (Germany, 1999), the Paul Celan Translation Prize (1999), the Jan Smrek Prize and the Theodore Kramer Prize (2008). His poems have been translated into 14 languages.

Tuvia Ruebner

Books Published in Hebrew

The Fire in the Stone, Sifriat Poalim, 1957 [Ha-Esh Ba-Even]
Poems to Find Time, Sifriat Poalim, 1961 [Shirim Limtzo Et]
As Long As, Sifriat Poalim, 1967 [Col Od]
Poems by Tuvya Ruebner, Ekked, 1970 [Mi-Shirei Tuvya Ruebner]
Unreturnable, Sifriat Poalim, 1971 [Eyn Lehashiv]
Midnight Sun, Sifriat Poalim, 1977 [Shemesh Hatzot]
A Graven and a Molten Image, Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1982 [Pesel Ve-Masechah]
And Hasteth to His Place, Sifriat Poalim, 1990 [Ve-El Mekomo Sho`ef]
Latter Day Poems, Keshev, 1999 [Shirim Meucharim]
Almost a Dialogue, Keshev, 2002 [Kimat Sicha]
Children's Nasty Rhymes and Others, Tsivonim, 2004 [Haruzey Yeladim Klokelim Ve-Acherim]
New Selected Poems, 1957-2005 (poetry) , Keshev, 2005 [Ikvot Yamim]
Everything After It, Keshev, 2007 [Kol Ma She-Achar Kach]
Late Beauty, Keshev, 2009 [Yofi Meuchar]
Contradictory Poems, Even Hoshen, 2011 [Shirim Sotrim]
Last: 2011-2012, Keshev, 2013 [Achronim: 2011-2012]
Cross-Rode, Keshev, 2015 [Parashat Ha-Drachim]
Still Before, Bialik Institute, 2017 [Od Lifnei]
Lea Goldberg: Monography, Sifriat Poalim/ Hakibbutz Hameuchad/ Tel Aviv University, 1980 [Lea Goldberg: Monographia]
A Long Short Life (autobiography), Keshev, 2006 [Haim Arukim Ktzarim]
My Eyes have Seen That Too (photography), Keshev, 2007 [Gam Zot Rau Einay]
Lea Goldberg-Tuvia Ruebner: Correspondence [with Lea Goldberg], Sifriat Poalim, 2017 [Ulai Rak Tziporei Masa: Chalifat Michtavim]

Books in Translation

German: Aachen, Rimbaud, 2016
Selected Poems
Swedish: Stockholm, Tidens, 1977
German: Munich, Piper, 1990; Warmbronn, Keicher, 2003, Aachen, Rimbaud, 2011; 2014

Slovak: Bratislava, MilaniumM, 2003

Early Poems
German: Aachen, Rimbaud, 1995

Selected Poems 1957-1997, Vol. 1
German: Aachen, Rimbaud, 1998

Selected Poems 1957-1999, Vol. 2
German: Aachen, Rimbaud, 2000

German: Aachen, Rimbaud, 1999

German: Aachen, Rimbaud, 2003

German: Aachen, Rimbaud, 2007

Late Beauty
German: Aachen, Rimbaud, 2010
English: Brookline, MA, Zephyr, 2015

In the Illuminated Dark
English: Pittsburgh, PA, University of Pittsburgh Press/ Hebrew Union College Press, 2014

A Long Short Life (autobiography)
German: Aachen, Rimbaud, 2014

Congratulations to Barabara Harshav for the 2018 PEN Medal for Translation!
The prize is given to a translator whose career has demonstrated a commitment to excellence through the body of their work. Barbara Harshav has been translating works from French, German, Hebrew and Yiddish for over twenty years and has currently published over forty books of translation. Among the many Hebrew authors she has translated: Yoram Kaniuk, Agnon, Yehudit Hendel, Yehuda Amichai and many more.
The Ministry of Culture and Sport announced the names of the winners of the Arik Einstein Veterans Artists Prize.
A prize of 50,000 NIS was given to each of the 21 artists who worked and are still working to promote Israeli culture in various fields -Music, dance, theater, plastic arts, cinema and literature. In the literature category the winners were Ronny Someck, Jacob Buchan and Shlomit Cohen-Assif. Also, Anat Masiach is among the recipient of the prize for debut literary works. Congratulations!
Congratulations to Ronit Matalon, the recipient of the 2017 Brenner prize for her book 'And the Bride Closed the Door". And, congratulations to Amir ziv, the recipent of the first ever Brenner prize for debut novels.
Ronit Matalon's book tells the story of Margie, a young bride, who shuts herself up in her mother's bedroom and declares that she won’t get married. Her family gathers at the locked door, not knowing what to do. Amir Ziv tells a story that begins as an apparently routine correspondence between a prying citizen, secretly in love with his neighbor, and a conscientious municipal clerk, and developes into an uncovering of a great underlying drama.
The fourth German-Hebrew/Hebrew-German translation workshop April 29 to May 5, 2018 Beit Ben-Yehuda, Jerusalem
After workshops in Berlin, Jerusalem and Straelen, the workshop will return to Jerusalem this spring. This workshop will focus on the participants translations. These are unfinished translations that have not yet been published. These will be sent to all participants. The workshop is open to 10 participants and is intended for literary translators with experience and publications. Workshop facilitators: Anne Birkenhauer and Gadi Goldberg Prerequisites: At least one published translation Duration: Sunday, April 29, 2018 until Saturday, May 5, 2018 Location: Beit Ben-Yehuda, 28 Ein Gedi St., 93383 Jerusalem Participation fee: Participation (Accommodation and meals) is free of charge. Travel / flight expenses will be refunded. For more details and for the documents required for submitting application: Anne Birkenhauer, and Gadi Goldberg,
Ayelet Gundar-Goshen's "Waking Lions" is one of the 100 notable books of 2017 of the "New York Times".

Congratulations to Zeruya Shalev and Shifra Horn for receiving the 2017 Adei Wizo Prize.

Ayelet Gundar-Goshen's "Waking Lions" is longlisted for the 2018 International Dublin Literary Award
Ayelet Gundar-Goshen's "Waking Lions" is longlisted for the 2018 International Dublin Literary Award! The books on the longlist are selected by 400 libraries worldwide. Titles are nominated on the basis of ‘high literary merit’ as determined by the nominating library.
Yitzchak Mayer's personal website goes live
English edition of Yitzchak Mayer's amazing "Silent Letter" is about to come out with Mosaic Press. Learn more about the author's incredible life story on his brand new website.
MHL - New webzine starting soon!