Home  \  Authors  \  Authors  \ 

Miri Varon

Miri Varon was born in Rehovot, Israel in 1944. She holds a PhD in Hebrew literature from Bar-Ilan University. She has published short stories and articles in literary journals including Moznayim, Aley Siach and Iton 77. Varon is active in the fields of education and culture, and lectures at Tel Aviv University and at the Kibbutzim Teachers' College. She was awarded the Tel Aviv Foundation Award for Wandering Bride (1988).

Miri Varon

Books Published in Hebrew

Wandering Bride (stories), Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1988 [Kala Afa]
Black Out (stories), Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 1993 [Hafsakat Chashmal]
When the Sun Goes Down (non-fiction), Ben Gurion University of the Negev, Eshel Books, 2000 [Baʹarov Ha-Yom: Iʹun Bi-Ytzirot Meʹucharot]
Time for Love (novel) , Hakibbutz Hameuchad, 2008 [Et Dodim]

Books in Translation

English: Tel Aviv, Contento de Semrik, 2015
Our new Spring 2019 catalogue of new books is up.
Click here to see it
"An original, extraordinary book" The Brenner prize committee
Congratulations to Noga Albalach, winner of the 2018 Brenner prize for her book "The Old Man (Farewell)".
Residencies in Vienna and Salzburg
In co-operation with KulturKontakt Austria, the Austrian Federal Chancellery offers 50 residencies in Vienna and Salzburg for the year 2019. Applications can be submitted for literature, literature for children and young adults and literary translations. Please note the deadline of September 30th, 2018.
Call for applications English speakers: Stay culture in Paris (deadline: June 12th, 2018)
Details in the attached link
Congratulations to Sami Berdugo and Shoham Smith, recipients of the 2018 Bialik Prize, one of the most prestigious literary prizes in Israel!

The Ministry of Culture and Sport announced the names of the winners of the Arik Einstein Veterans Artists Prize.
A prize of 50,000 NIS was given to each of the 21 artists who worked and are still working to promote Israeli culture in various fields -Music, dance, theater, plastic arts, cinema and literature. In the literature category the winners were Ronny Someck, Jacob Buchan and Shlomit Cohen-Assif. Also, Anat Masiach is among the recipient of the prize for debut literary works. Congratulations!
MHL - New webzine starting soon!