Jump to Content

Meir Shalev

מאיר שלו

Leading author Meir Shalev (1948-2023) was born Nahalal, Israel’s first moshav, where he also grew up. He later moved to Jerusalem, and then he moved back to the Gallille. After studying psychology at the Hebrew University, Shalev became well-known as the producer and moderator of radio and TV programs. He is also a regular columnist in the Israeli press, in particular for Yedioth Ahronoth. His novels have been bestsellers abroad as well as in Israel; he has also written non-fiction books and many books for children.

Shalev has been awarded the Bernstein Prize (1989), the Juliet Club Prize and the Chiavari Prize (Italy, 1999), the Wizo Prize in France, Israel and Italy, the Brenner Prize (2006), the American National Jewish Book Award for A Pigeon and a Boy (2007), the Porta Siberia Prize (Italy, 2009), the Pratt Award for Environmental Journalism (2009) and the Neuman Prize (2011). He has been awarded the Book Publishers Association’s Gold and Platinum Prizes for his bestselling books, and for his novel, Two She-Bears, he has been awarded the Steimatzky Prize for bestselling book of the year (2014). He was also decorated as Chevalier de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres (France, 2014). His work has been published abroad in over 20 languages.

Shalev died in 2023 at the age of 74 and was buried in Nahalal.

Photo by: Dan Porges

The Books

Filter by