Jump to Content

Ofir Touché Gafla

אופיר טושה גפלה

Ofir Touché Gafla was born in 1968 in Israel. He has written seven novels: The World of the End (2004), The Cataract in the Mind’s Eye (2005), Behind the Fog (2007), The Day the Music Died (2010), The Book of Disorder (2013), The Guests (2016) and Notes from Road Land (2019). His eighth book, Dormant Volcanoes, is soon to follow.

Touché Gafla’s work has been awarded prizes and translated into several languages. The World of the End won the Geffen Award for the Best Original Science Fiction or Fantasy Novel (2005) and the Kugel Award for Hebrew Literature (2006). It was translated into English, French, Spanish and Chinese. Touché Gafla won the Prime Minister’s Prize for Literature (2014). His short stories have been published in anthologies, magazines and newspapers, in Israel and abroad.

Touché Gafla is a creative writing lecturer at Sam Spiegel School of Film & TV in Jerusalem. He was a member of the IWP at the University of Iowa and a visiting professor at the University of Texas in Austin. He is a bibliophile, an ailurophile, and a melomaniac.

Photo by: Ido Berlad

The Books

Filter by