Home  \  Authors  \  Authors  \ 

Nomi Levitsky

Nomi Levitsky was born in Jerusalem. A writer and well-known journalist, Levitsky has published many articles on political and social issues in the Hebrew press, especially in Yedioth Ahronoth, Israel`s largest mass circulation daily. Following an article she wrote on South Africa`s apartheid regime, Levitsky was declared persona non grata and forbidden entrance to South Africa for many years. Levitsky has published a book on Israel`s Supreme Court, and a biography of Aharon Barak, its Chief Justice. Both books were bestsellers. Saving Shimba is her first children`s book.
Nomi Levitsky

Books Published in Hebrew

Your Honor (biography), Keter, 2001 (Kevodo)
The Supremes (non-fiction), Hakibbutz Hameuchad/ Siman Kriah, 2006; ext. ed.: 2017 (Ha-Elyonim)
Saving Shimba (children) , Kinneret, 2008 [Lehatzil Et Shimba]

Books in Translation

Residencies in Vienna and Salzburg
In co-operation with KulturKontakt Austria, the Austrian Federal Chancellery offers 50 residencies in Vienna and Salzburg for the year 2019. Applications can be submitted for literature, literature for children and young adults and literary translations. Please note the deadline of September 30th, 2018.
Call for applications English speakers: Stay culture in Paris (deadline: June 12th, 2018)
Details in the attached link
Congratulations to Sami Berdugo and Shoham Smith, recipients of the 2018 Bialik Prize, one of the most prestigious literary prizes in Israel!

The Ministry of Culture and Sport announced the names of the winners of the Arik Einstein Veterans Artists Prize.
A prize of 50,000 NIS was given to each of the 21 artists who worked and are still working to promote Israeli culture in various fields -Music, dance, theater, plastic arts, cinema and literature. In the literature category the winners were Ronny Someck, Jacob Buchan and Shlomit Cohen-Assif. Also, Anat Masiach is among the recipient of the prize for debut literary works. Congratulations!
The fourth German-Hebrew/Hebrew-German translation workshop November 4th to 10th, 2018 Beit Ben-Yehuda, Jerusalem
After workshops in Berlin, Jerusalem and Straelen, the workshop will return to Jerusalem this spring. This workshop will focus on the participants translations. These are unfinished translations that have not yet been published. These will be sent to all participants. The workshop is open to 10 participants and is intended for literary translators with experience and publications. Workshop facilitators: Anne Birkenhauer and Gadi Goldberg Prerequisites: At least one published translation Duration: November 4th 2018 until November 10th, 2018 Location: Beit Ben-Yehuda, 28 Ein Gedi St., 93383 Jerusalem Participation fee: Participation (Accommodation and meals) is free of charge. Travel / flight expenses will be refunded. For more details and for the documents required for submitting application: Anne Birkenhauer, and Gadi Goldberg,
Ayelet Gundar-Goshen's "Waking Lions" is one of the 100 notable books of 2017 of the "New York Times".

MHL - New webzine starting soon!