Dear Friends and colleagues,

"Troubles come and go, your troubles will also pass"

- From Nobel Prize laureate S.Y. Agnon's "The Doctor's Divorce," translated by Robert Alter.

"כל הצרות באות ויוצאות ואף צרתי עתידה שתעבור", ש"י עגנון, "הרופא וגרושתו"

Please rest assured that we at ITHL are doing our best to keep our spirits up and business as usual.
We continue to extend our services to our authors and foreign colleagues alike.
According to the Israeli Government's most recent instructions we will conduct from now on most of our work from home while our office will be kept open for urgent issues.

Please do not hesitate to be in contact and bear with us in case our response will slow down a bit.

We pray this nightmare will be soon over with minimal damages to all.

Best wishes for good health,

Nilli Cohen, Director, ITHL





Zruya Shalev wins the 2019 Jan Michalski Prize of Literature
We are proud to announce that the 2019 Jan Michalski Prize has been awarded to Zeruya Shalev for her novel Douleur (Gallimard, 2017; published in English as Pain: A Novel, Other Press, 2019). The Jan Michalski Prize is the third in importance in the literary world, after the Nobel Prize and the Man Booker. The jury hailed ‘a dizzying novel in which the author explores the physiological and emotional territories of suffering, where the characters’ past and present are inextricably linked. Zeruya Shalev is a singular writer whose prose, both fluid and tense, sharp and poetic, gives us a narrative that is delicate in its violence, a tale of obstinate love involving several generations. A story of personal heartbreak, moving through layer upon layer as it adheres closely to the development of Israeli society, Shalev’s book also represents the novel as the scar tissue of a country.’
The Liar by Ayelet Gundar-Goshen was chosen as one of the Best Books of 2019 by Elle Magazine.
"If a story frustrates you, it’s doing its job. Ayelet Gundar-Goshen's The Liar takes a delicate and timely topic—false accusation of attempted sexual assault—and spins a plot of coming-of-age confusion, complex motives, human suffering and familial love." —Alexandra Clement, Assistant to the Editor-in-Chief
2019 Translation Subsidy Program
Publishers are hereby advised to approach ITHL via email with any queries and requests re forthcoming submission rounds. Please look for relevant updates, deadlines and further details of forthcoming rounds. Publishers who undertake to translate a work of modern Hebrew literature can apply for a subsidy to help with the translation cost. This option is also available to literary journals that dedicate a special issue (or a special feature within an issue) to modern Hebrew literature, as well as to publishers who wish to publish anthologies. Aid is subject to approval by the board and availability of funds. We look forward to receiving your applications. Please see here further information about the TSP.
נוהל הועדה המקצועית של המכון לתרגום ספרות עברית
MHL - New webzine starting soon!